Page 1 of 1

backporting to blackbox

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:17 pm
by ilikespeeding
now that ECU+ is has ended retail, is there anyway blackbox users can pay a fee to have updated software or anything? Just an idea.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:49 pm
by tlcoll1
It's not really feasible to backport the silver box code to the black box. The two are now completely different, software-wise, so it'd be a huge amount of work to backport even the compatible features. The upgrade path was always black box->silver box, and it was really cheap for a while to do so. Unfortunately, at this point, the black box folks have missed the boat - the black box units "are what they are."

Tom

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:08 am
by ilikespeeding
Damn...well surely I can get a used silver box from eBay? How easy is the swap?

If this doesn't work...I might have to run to eManage or maybe a standalone. I really like ECU+ now and dont want to get rid of it.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:01 pm
by tlcoll1
If you have a PnP black box, then there's very little effort to switch to a PnP silver box unit. If you wired it yourself, well, you'll be doing that again. :D

The silver box ECU+ certainly isn't going to be any tougher to install and use than any other option, especially since you already know about the ECU+.

Tom