Discussion Forums

Ecu+ erased?

Car-specific questions and tuning advice for the Lancer Evolutions. EVO 8 and 9 mostly, but earlier models welcome.

Ecu+ erased?

Postby Omegared » Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:07 pm

So my car was down for 5 weeks while I was making some changes. In the process, i had disconnected my battery for a while. This past weekend I put it all together and took it for a test drive. Now I did not have my laptop so I couldnt tell exactly if all of my settings had been erased but what I could tell right away was the fact that my 2 step no longer worked. It was set at 5500 or so. I revved well passed that and nothing happened.

I was under the impression that ecu+ kept the settings in some sort of internal memory on the box ? Its going to suck that I have to retune the car from scratch now but I will if I have to...Well I have no choice. LOL.
Omegared
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby tlcoll1 » Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:20 pm

Can't be. The ECU+ does save its settings in internal memory. Possibly the reason your 2-step wasn't working was that the clutch switch got disconnected or something.

Also, if for some reason your settings were lost, it's easy to restore them. Find a .ecd file you created after your tune - that contains a complete copy of all of your settings. You can import those settings from the Head Unit Settings dialog box.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby Omegared » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:55 pm

I will see whats going on this weekend. But my speed sensor failed. I replaced that. I assume that had something to do with it being that it is in direct relation to the tach. I'll bring my laptop up this weekend.
Omegared
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby honki24 » Wed Sep 02, 2009 2:34 pm

I'd imagine the speed sensor has a lot to do with it considering the 2 step should only work under X speed (2-5mph?)
Advoacate of the Theocratic Reign.
http://www.FlatlineMotorsports.net
03 Evo 8
honki24
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:59 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby Omegared » Wed Sep 02, 2009 2:47 pm

honki24 wrote:I'd imagine the speed sensor has a lot to do with it considering the 2 step should only work under X speed (2-5mph?)


You are correct sir. It has everything to do with the 2 step. I will let you know if my entire tune was erased but i dont think it did. Like Tom said , it has a internal memory and my car idled fine. That tells me that ecu+ is still doing its job with the injector comp.
Omegared
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby honki24 » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:25 am

BTW, does your "2-step" really perform a 2-step? I haven't tried it, only the stock launch limit. Do you actually pull timing, and does it work? If so could you post a screenshot of your settings?
Advoacate of the Theocratic Reign.
http://www.FlatlineMotorsports.net
03 Evo 8
honki24
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:59 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby Omegared » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:21 am

honki24 wrote:BTW, does your "2-step" really perform a 2-step? I haven't tried it, only the stock launch limit. Do you actually pull timing, and does it work? If so could you post a screenshot of your settings?


Sure, I will post a screen shot this weekend. The 2 step works great. I build plenty off boost on it. Much more than the flashed 2 step.
Omegared
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby tlcoll1 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:22 am

honki24 wrote:BTW, does your "2-step" really perform a 2-step? I haven't tried it, only the stock launch limit. Do you actually pull timing, and does it work? If so could you post a screenshot of your settings?

6000 RPM launch RPM, ignition cut only. The flat spot is the 2-step, the dip is the clutch release and take off. I'd say it works...

Tom

6k-launch.jpg
6k-launch.jpg (51.36 KiB) Viewed 6823 times
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby Omegared » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:57 am

20psi without even trying. Beautiful.
Omegared
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby honki24 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:08 am

you built boost without WOT? You don't use WOT before launch? Is that boost limited by an MBC? Can you do something with fuel so that you can do a 4500rpm launch instead of a 6K launch and still build 20psi? lol look at me... you've poisoned me! I don't wanna replace my clutch again!
Advoacate of the Theocratic Reign.
http://www.FlatlineMotorsports.net
03 Evo 8
honki24
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:59 am

Re: Ecu+ erased?

Postby tlcoll1 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:57 pm

On that particular run, I wasn't at WOT and did build boost - roughly 10-15 PSI. The 20 PSI was as part of launch. This with a Hallman MBC at the time.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD


Return to EVO Specific

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron