Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

General questions and chit-chat about the ECU+.
Post Reply
ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by ilikespeeding »

So, what does this do really? My car will start and immediately stall unless this is checked.

Base timing off?

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Post by tlcoll1 »

That's a debugging option. If your car stalls without it on, then you've probably got the cam sensor types set incorrectly for your car.

Tom

ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by ilikespeeding »

Could it be that I wired the sensor incorrectly?

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Post by tlcoll1 »

Probably not. If bypass works, then the ECU+ is seeing both your cam and crank sensor signals. Verify that your input and output cam sensor types match the year of cam sensor and year of stock ECU, respectively.

Tom

ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by ilikespeeding »

My car has a 6 bolt swap, so no crank sensor.

But I def will double check part numbers with years. Thank you so much!

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by tlcoll1 »

Your car definitely has both a crank sensor and a cam sensor :wink:. They may be in the same package, but both have to exist for the car to run. Also, the year of your stock ECU should match the year of your car unless you've swapped it out.

Tom

ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by ilikespeeding »

I thought the crank sensor plug was on the same harness as the cam sensor? I dont know what the fuck I'm talking about.

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by tlcoll1 »

Both sensors are inside the same housing for some cars, thus the confusion. So where are you with respect to turning that bypass check-box off?

Tom

ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by ilikespeeding »

I found out that if I set both input and output to 1G, everything plays nice.

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by tlcoll1 »

It should play slightly nicer if you set input as 1G, output as 2G 97+.

Tom

ilikespeeding
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by ilikespeeding »

^I had it like that, but it ran like shit; it wouldnt idle. As soon as I switched it over to all 1G, it idled and boosted fine.

tlcoll1
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD
Contact:

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Post by tlcoll1 »

Hmmm. I'm not digging that. Both of those sensor types are very similar - I can't imagine seeing what you're seeing, but I guess I shouldn't argue with success.

Tom

Post Reply

Return to “General Q&A”