Discussion Forums

Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

General questions and chit-chat about the ECU+.

Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby ilikespeeding » Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:21 pm

So, what does this do really? My car will start and immediately stall unless this is checked.

Base timing off?
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Postby tlcoll1 » Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:14 pm

That's a debugging option. If your car stalls without it on, then you've probably got the cam sensor types set incorrectly for your car.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Postby ilikespeeding » Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:16 pm

Could it be that I wired the sensor incorrectly?
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Postby tlcoll1 » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:33 pm

Probably not. If bypass works, then the ECU+ is seeing both your cam and crank sensor signals. Verify that your input and output cam sensor types match the year of cam sensor and year of stock ECU, respectively.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Postby ilikespeeding » Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:14 pm

My car has a 6 bolt swap, so no crank sensor.

But I def will double check part numbers with years. Thank you so much!
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby tlcoll1 » Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:44 pm

Your car definitely has both a crank sensor and a cam sensor :wink:. They may be in the same package, but both have to exist for the car to run. Also, the year of your stock ECU should match the year of your car unless you've swapped it out.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby ilikespeeding » Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:32 am

I thought the crank sensor plug was on the same harness as the cam sensor? I dont know what the fuck I'm talking about.
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby tlcoll1 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:28 am

Both sensors are inside the same housing for some cars, thus the confusion. So where are you with respect to turning that bypass check-box off?

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby ilikespeeding » Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:37 pm

I found out that if I set both input and output to 1G, everything plays nice.
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby tlcoll1 » Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:18 pm

It should play slightly nicer if you set input as 1G, output as 2G 97+.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby ilikespeeding » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:41 pm

^I had it like that, but it ran like shit; it wouldnt idle. As soon as I switched it over to all 1G, it idled and boosted fine.
ilikespeeding
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 pm

Re: Cam/Crank Sensor Bypass

Postby tlcoll1 » Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:09 pm

Hmmm. I'm not digging that. Both of those sensor types are very similar - I can't imagine seeing what you're seeing, but I guess I shouldn't argue with success.

Tom
tlcoll1
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Odenton, MD


Return to General Q&A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron